Saturday, August 24, 2019

The Mary Swords DeBaillon Medal 2019

The American Iris Society
The Mary Swords DeBaillon Medal 2019
'DARK DUDE' (Ron Betzer)
'LEMON ZEST' (Kevin Vaughn)
' MICHIGAN BELLE' (Jill Copeland)'

For the first time, three irises tied for the medal:

'Lemon Zest'--image by Louisiana Iris Farm

'Lemon Zest' ( Kevin Vaughn, R. 1998). Seedling F-32-1. LA, 24-28" (61-71 cm), Very early to early midseason bloom. Standards bright lemon yellow aging to creamy lemon with lemon green veins; style arms electric green; Falls bright lemon yellow, intense electric green signal area; heavily ruffled, lightly serrate. 'Heavenly Glow' X 'Vermilion Queen'. Louisiana Iris Farms 2009. Award of Merit 2015.

'Dark Dude'--imagbe by Ron Betzer

'Dark Dude' (Ron Betzer, R. 2010). Seedling 95-28-1. LA, 34" (86 cm), Midseason late bloom. Standards and style arms near black from the red side. Falls the same overlaid velvety black. Gold dagger signal. Lightly ruffled. ''Bout Midnight' x 'Margaret Lee'. Plantation Point 2010. Award of Merit 2015.

'Michigan Belle'--image by Ensata Gardens

'Michigan Belle' ( Jill Copeland, R. 2007). Seedling 5-K. LA, 30" (76 cm), Midseason bloom. Standards rosy violet (RHS 70B); style arms red violet (184B); Falls rosy purple (70A) to rosy violet (78A), back yellow (8A), 1/2" rosy red violet (184B) edge, signal bright yellow (9A) spray pattern. 'Jack Attack' X 'Plantation Belle'. Ensata 2007. Honorable Mention 2012. Award of Merit 2015.

This medal is restricted to Louisiana (LA) irises. It is named in honor of Mary Swords DeBaillon (1888-1940). When Mary DeBaillon realized how varied Louisiana irises were and what lovely garden plants they were, she amassed the largest collection of Louisiana irises in the world. She was tireless in promoting these irises as good garden plants and in encouraging any who would listen to grow them. She gained considerable fame as a naturalist and native plant collector.

The World of Irises blog will be posting once a day all of the medal winners. The entire list of winners can be found at the AIS website, the AIS Encyclopedia and later in the AIS Bulletin, IRISES.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...