Sunday, August 25, 2019

2019 Morgan-Wood Medal

Morgan-Wood Medal 2019

The American Iris Society
The Morgan-Wood Medal 2019

This medal is restricted to Siberian irises. It is named in honor of F. Cleveland Morgan (1882-1962) and Ira E. Wood (1903-1977). F. Cleveland Morgan was a pioneer Canadian breeder of Siberian irises and a founding member of AIS. Some of his magnificent cultivars still enhance gardens around the globe. Three of his best known irises are 'Caezar,' 'Caezar's Brother' and ‘Tropic Night’. Ira E. Wood, hybridized Siberian irises, but he introduced only one cultivar 'Ong's Hat.' He also served as a director of AIS and as its second vice president.

'Paprikash'--image by Bryce Williamson

'Paprikash' ( Marty Schafer and Jan Sacks, R. 2012) Seedling S06-91-10A. SIB, 20" (51 cm). Midseason bloom. Standards pale ground with red-violet veins and dappling, yellow at hafts; style arms light apricot, bright red-violet heart; Falls apricot ground, heavily speckled red all over, bright yellow signal with self speckles and veins; slight sweet fragrance. S03-56A-10: ( 'Humors Of Whiskey' x 'Cream Of Tomato' pollen parent) X 'Miss Apple'. Joe Pye Weed 2012. Honorable Mention 2015. Award of Merit 2017.

The World of Irises blog will be posting once a day all of the medal winners. The entire list of winners can be found at the AIS website, the AIS Encyclopedia and later in the AIS Bulletin, IRISES.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...