Monday, August 13, 2018

Dykes Medal 2018

 The American Iris Society
Announces the
2018 Dykes Medal Winner

First awarded in 1927, the Dykes Medal is the highest award of the AIS, awarded to no more than one iris per year. Irises are eligible as a Dykes Medal candidate for three years following the winning of a classification medal. Only AIS registered judges may vote.

Image Keith Keppel

From (Royal Sterling x (Last Laugh x (Electrique x Romantic Evening))) X (Hello It's Me x Reckless in Denim)), it is described in Keith Keppel’s 2010 catalogue: “From the cross of two Blyth seedlings comes this ethereal beauty. Pale pinkish grey to heliotrope grey standards, falls a bit deeper, with shadowy, ghostly emanations of deeper veining from the heart, paling as they move outward. Inconspicuous heliotrope to ibis pink beards. A very subtle, very lovely flower with superb ruffling and heavy substance.”

Congratulations to Mr. Keppel for winning the Dykes the second year in a row.

The World of Irises blog will be posting once a day the other medal winners as soon as the hybridizers are notified. The entire list of winners can be found at, the AIS Encyclopedia and later in the AIS Bulletin, IRISES. Pictures can be found at

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...