Saturday, August 23, 2014

2014 Wister Medal Winners

By Andi Rivarola

Gorgeous 'Black Magic Woman' by Rick Tasco (R. 2008) became one of the three winners of the 2014 Wister Medal.

The other two are:

'Montmatre' by Keith Keppel, (R. 2007) and 'Magical' by Joe Ghio (R. 2007).

The Wister Medal

The highest award given by The American Iris Society to a tall-bearded iris.

This medal is named in honor of John C. Wister (1887-1982), founding member and first President of the AIS. All iris categories award only one medal for each year with the exception is this category, the very popular Tall Bearded (TB) iris category. There are three Wister Medals awarded each year, and only AIS registered judges may vote for them.

2014 Award Winners

The entire list of Award Winners for this year can be found on our website: 2014 AIS Awards.

And, for a fantastic and more expanded list with links and images, visit The AIS Encyclopedia: 2014 Awards at the Iris Encyclopedia

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...