Tuesday, August 24, 2021

The American Iris Society Announces the 2021 Mohr Medal Winners


The Mohr Medal is restricted to irises of one-quarter or more aril content that do not meet the more restrictive requirements of the Clarence G. White Medal.

It is named in honor of William A. Mohr (1871-1923). About ten years before his death, Mohr began working with irises. He obtained the tetraploid Asiatic species, as well as regelia and oncocyclus irises, and communicated with other iris hybridizers such as Ellen Sturtevant and Samuel Stillman Berry. The two greatest achievements of William Mohr's hybridizing programs are probably his plicatas and his innovative and beautiful arilbreds. His great plicatas are 'Los Angeles' and the iris that won the first American Dykes Medal, 'San Francisco.' Mohr's most important arilbred iris is the magnificent 'William Mohr.' 

Editor’s Note: Due to the pandemic last year, the American Iris Society Board of Directors suspended garden awards. As a result, and for only this year, two medals will be award in this area. Previous awards winners can be found at https://wiki.irises.org/Main/InfoAwards


'Heart Of Hearts' (Paul Black, R. 2015) Seedling T132C. AB (OGB-), 24" (61 cm), Midseason to late bloom. Standards icy blue-white, mid old gold base and up ¹⁄₃ of rib; style arms light violet-blue, mid gold edge, ice white crest; falls mid-light lavender, mid auburn hafts and blended veined margin around black cherry signal veined darker, light gold haft veins; beard hairs based grey-white, tips mid grey-brown. 'Galaxina' sibling. 2015 Mid-America.

PARABLE (Thomas Johnson)

'Parable' (Thomas Johnson, R. 2011) Seedling TX155AA, AB (OGB-), 20 (51 cm), Early bloom. Standards and style arms blue violet; Falls red violet veined darker blue, strong black signals; beards dark navy overlaid brown; clean purple base foliage; slight fragrance. 'Puddy Tat' sibling X 'Kalifa's Robe'. Mid-America Gardens 2011.

The World of Irises blog will be posting classification medal winners as soon as the hybridizers are notified. The entire list of winners, including award of merit and honorable mention, will be published in the AIS website, the AIS Encyclopedia, and later in the AIS Bulletin, IRISES.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...