Thursday, August 16, 2012

2012 Morgan-Wood Medal 'So Van Gogh'

By Andi Rivarola

Here's yet another announcement of an AIS medal winner. This time the 2012 Morgan-Wood Medal: 'So Van Gogh,' hybridized by Marty Schafer and Jan Sacks of Massachusetts.

A complete list of winners in other categories can be found on the AIS website.

Here's a full description of this beautiful iris via the Iris Wiki

'So Van Gogh' (Marty Schafer/Jan Sacks, R. 2005) Sdlg. S97-20-10. SIB, 30" (76 cm), EM Standards and style arms medium blue-violet (RHS 90B to 91B), darker veining and edges (89B at darkest); Falls are yellow (13C), lighter at edge, darkest at signal, veined blue violet (89A to 90B), darkest at tip, signal yellow, veined deep blue-violet, blends into F. 'Sarah Tiffney' X 'Banish Misfortune.' Joe Pye Weed 2005. HM 2008, AM 2010.

(Photo by Schafer/Sacks)

The Morgan-Wood Medal

History by Clarence Mahan 

This medal is restricted to Siberian (SIB) irises. It is named in honor of F. Cleveland Morgan (1882-1962) and Ira E. Wood (1903-1977).
F. Cleveland Morgan was a pioneer Canadian breeder of Siberian irises and a founding member of AIS. Some of his magnificent cultivars still enhance gardens around the globe. Three of his best known irises are 'Caezar', 'Caezar's Brother' and ‘Tropic Night'. Educated in England and Switzerland, he was a director of the Henry Morgan Company and a patron of Canadian arts. Morgan's association with the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts spanned a period of forty-five years, including 8 years as president of that institution. The museum held a special exhibition in 1961 to display more than six hundred works of art that he had donated.
AIS instituted the Morgan Award for Siberian Irises, the predecessor to the Morgan-Wood Medal, in 1951.
More on the Morgan-Wood Medal, such as its history and past medal winners, can be found on the Iris Wiki.
For more information on AIS Awards, please visit our website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...